Connect with us


Hercules & Love Affair ‘The Feast Of The Broken Heart’ [Review]



hercules feast albumHercules & Love Affair again prove their dexterity on their third album, ‘The Feast Of The Broken Heart’. After the jacking Disco of their 2008 debut came the more experimental 2011 Blue Songs. Following yet another change in band personnel, Hercules & Love Affair have changed stance again, this time with a House sound that is direct and uncompromising.

The band, led by NYC producer Andy Butler, take up a tougher, harder-edged sound than we have heard before with ‘The Feast Of The Broken Heart’. There is a distinct old-school House vibe running throughout, complete with firing synths, rough basslines and nasty sounding beats. There is an aggression to the music, which at times verges on Techno, but the band still manage to load the songs with plenty of emotion via some stellar vocal performances from the likes of John Grant and Krystle Warren.

The Pop structures that play a big role in the album ensure the record hasn’t turned out as a collection of functional club bombs too. It feels like an expression of modern electronic music that encapsulates the intense emotions that one feels when connected with that music in a club.

And this could possibly be the best album of 2014 in my own personal opinion.


1. Hercules Theme 2014
2. My Offence (feat. Krystle Warren)
3. I Try To Talk To You (feat. John Grant)
4. That’s Not Me (feat. Gustaph)
5. Think (feat. Rouge Mary)
6. To Freedom (feat. Rouge Mary)
7. The Light (feat. Krystle Warren)
8. Liberty (feat. John Grant
9. Do You Feel The Same (feat. Gustaph)
10. The Key (feat. Rouge Mary)

Hercules & Love Affair have teamed up with 2014 Brit nominee John Grant for new song “I Try To Talk To You”. Watch the video below!


Hi, my name is Erick Ycaza. I have a BA in Advertising & Graphic Design. This blog is to provide you with daily music news and share my personal style.

Don't miss out!
Subscribe To Newsletter
Invalid email address